Uncategorized

Book Blast: CHEROKEE AMERICA

 

unnamed (1)

CHEROKEE AMERICA BY MARGARET VERBLE

Publication Date: February 19, 2019
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Hardcover & eBook; 400 Pages

Genre: Literary/Historical Fiction/Native American

From the author of the Pulitzer Prize finalist Maud’s Line, an epic novel that follows a web of complex family alliances and culture clashes in the Cherokee Nation during the aftermath of the Civil War, and the unforgettable woman at its center.

It’s the early spring of 1875 in the Cherokee Nation West. A baby, a black hired hand, a bay horse, a gun, a gold stash, and a preacher have all gone missing. Cherokee America Singer, known as “Check,” a wealthy farmer, mother of five boys, and soon-to-be widow, is not amused.

In this epic of the American frontier, several plots intertwine around the heroic and resolute Check: her son is caught in a compromising position that results in murder; a neighbor disappears; another man is killed. The tension mounts and the violence escalates as Check’s mixed race family, friends, and neighbors come together to protect their community—and painfully expel one of their own.

Cherokee America vividly, and often with humor, explores the bonds—of blood and place, of buried histories and half-told tales, of past grief and present injury—that connect a colorful, eclectic cast of characters, anchored by the clever, determined, and unforgettable Check.

Praise for Cherokee America

“Highly recommended for readers of literary historical fiction in the vein of Lalita Tademy’s Citizen’s Creek and Paulette Jiles’s News of the World.”–Library Journal, STARRED review

“In Verble’s hands, this tale of a mother’s love and her gritty resolve in a shameful era of false promises and broken treaties makes for a rich, propulsive novel.”–Publishers Weekly

“An impressive, historical saga of Native American life in the mid-19th century.”–BookPage

Cherokee America does what all the best historical fiction does—it vividly captures its particular time and place, yet simultaneously offers valuable insights about our own era. Margaret Verble is an exceptional storyteller, and this novel will enhance her already considerable literary reputation.”—Ron Rash, author of Serena

AMAZON | BARNES AND NOBLE | CHAPTERS | INDIEBOUND | KOBO

About the Author

03_Margaret Verble

Margaret Verble is an enrolled and voting citizen of the Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma and a member of a large Cherokee family that has, through generations, made many contributions to the tribe’s history and survival. Although many of her family have remained in Oklahoma to this day, and some still own and farm the land on which the book is set, Margaret was raised in Nashville, Tennessee, and currently lives in Lexington, Kentucky.

Many of the characters of Maud’s Line are based on people Margaret knew as a child and the setting is land she roamed for many years of her life. In part, Margaret wrote this book to keep those people and that land alive in her heart.

Margaret’s new novel, Cherokee America, will be released by Houghton, Mifflin, Harcourt on Feb. 19, 2019. A prequel to Maud’s Line, it is set in 1875 in the Arkansas River bottoms of the old Cherokee Nation West.

Margaret is a member of the Authors Guild and Western Writers of America.

WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | GOODREADS | AMAZON | BOOKBUB

Blog Tour Schedule

Tuesday, February 19
Feature at Coffee and Ink

Wednesday, February 20
Review at A Book Geek
Feature at Myths, Legends, Books & Coffee Pots

Friday, February 22
Review at Creating Herstory
Feature at What Is That Book About

Tuesday, February 26
Review at Jennifer Silverwood’s Blog

Wednesday, February 27
Review at The Lit Bitch

Thursday, February 28
Review at Tar Heel Reader

Friday, March 1
Feature at View from the Birdhouse

Monday, March 4
Review at Amy’s Booket List

Thursday, March 7
Review at The Old Shelter
Feature at Donna’s Book Blog

Friday, March 8
Interview at The Old Shelter

Monday, March 11
Interview at Passages to the Past

Wednesday, March 13
Review at Passages to the Past

Friday, March 15
Review at bookramblings
Review at The Reading Woman

Giveaway

During the Blog Tour we will be giving away five copies of Cherokee America by Margaret Verble! To enter, please use the Gleam form below.

Giveaway Rules

– Giveaway ends at 11:59pm EST on March 15th. You must be 18 or older to enter.
– Giveaway is open to US only.
– Only one entry per household.
– All giveaway entrants agree to be honest and not cheat the systems; any suspect of fraud is decided upon by blog/site owner and the sponsor, and entrants may be disqualified at our discretion.
– Winner has 48 hours to claim prize or new winner is chosen.

To enter in the competition just follow the link below

https://gleam.io/Vmr3g/cherokee-america

 

Advertisements
Uncategorized

Book Review: Ten Kisses to Scandal by Vivienne Lorret

 

 

91JlLTADX+L

Title: Ten Kisses to Scandal ~~Author: Vivienne Lorret

Publisher: Avon Books ~~  Format:  Kindle~ Genre: Romance

 

My Review

I would first off like to say thanks to  Vivienne Lorret  for letting me be apart of her review team and for Avon Book for sending me this wonderful book.

Ten Kisses To Scandal  is the second book in Vivienne Lorret Misadventures in matchmaking series. The story centers around Briar Bourne who is an inspiring matchmaker. Her family runs a match making service and Briar has aspirations of becoming a match maker herself,  she wants to prove to her sister that she is good for more then just pouring tea.

So she decides to sneak out of the house in hopes of getting one of the town’s most eligible bachelor’s as a client.  While trying to hail a carriage she comes upon a scandalous scene of man and woman in the midst of passion. Instead of running away, she watches which catches the attention of the rake Nicholas Blacklowe,  Earl of Edgemont.

Edgemont is both amused and intrigued by Briar.  He doesn’t expect to see her again after their first encounter,  but is surprised to learn that she is friends with his cousin Temperance. He then hires her to help both his cousins, Temperance and Daniel, to find suitable matches.

Not only that he agrees to give her “lessons” in match making.

The payment ?

She has to kiss him with each lesson.

Things get more intriguing when a woman from Nicholas past hires Briar to match Nicholas.  At first she all up for the task but as the attraction grows between her and Nicholas the thought of him marrying another woman doesn’t sound so appealing anymore.

I really loved this story, once I got started reading this I couldn’t put it down. I love the Jane Austin quotes at the beginning of each chapter.  I thought that the story was written very well written and the pacing of the story was just right.

I think that the pairing of Nicholas and Briar was Amazing!  I fell in love with this couple from the beginning.  You could definitely see the sparks between them. I love the banter between these two,  I found myself laughing out loud. I also love the slow burn,  even though in one scene they could be kissing you still had that element of surprise wondering if they were going to get together or not .

I had several favorite scenes in this book,  but I have to admit the carriage scene at the beginning of the story when Briar first meets Nicolas is my favorite. Vivienne Lorret has a way of pulling you into the scene.  Its almost as though you are there yourself.

Overall, great book.  I cannot wait to read the next book in this series. If your looking to read a great romance for Valentines day then look no further.

 

5 Star Rating

 

About the Author:

1806374

USA TODAY bestselling author Vivienne Lorret transforms copious amounts of tea into words. She is an Avon author of The Wallflower Wedding series, The Rakes of Fallow Hall series, The Season’s Original series, and the Misadventures in Matchmaking series. For more on her upcoming novels, sign up for her newsletter at http://www.vivlorret.net